Perak Branch was founded soon after in late 19th century and in early 20th century, together with the Selangor Chamber of Commerce amalgamated with Penang Chamber of Commerce to form an enlarged Chamber of Commerce.  By 1974, the group restructured and was incorporated into a company limited by guarantee and renamed the Malaysian International Chamber of Commerce and Industry.